Living with a Husband who Plays WOW


I am not a Sunday football widow.  I am not a careeraholics widow.  I am not an alcoholic or gamblers widow.

I am something a bit unusual.  I am a WOW widow.  And I am happy about it.

My husband is addicted to World of Warcraft.  I made him kick the habit once.  We had been playing, side by side at our own computers for over a year and finally, with 7 characters each, and not enough hours in the day to ever get them all up to the highest levels, I gave up.  We had a fight and I told him it was the marriage or WOW.

He adores me.  He gave up WOW for the last year.

But what did we do with our time instead?  What the “other people did.”  We watched TV.  We rented movies.  We played card games on Club Pogo every night.  And then we became addicted to Facebook’s Farmville and Cafe World.  Free games but completely stupid and pointless and not a bit mind bending.  We played these for months.

I asked myself, how is any of that more beneficial than a mind stimulating computer game playing against real people all over the world?

At Christmas, my husbands dearest friend, Christopher, offered the most generous holiday gift – to give us both a 6 month subscription to WOW again.  We said no graciously. But this friend was someone we wanted to play WOW with from the beginning, but he was not into it.  Now he was WAY into it and we weren’t.  Instead, my husband would come home at night from a day of trucking and tell me he walked Christopher through a dungeon via the telephone that day. He was wistful as he talked. And proud to be the one with the vast experience.

One night, while we sat next to one another, once again harvesting our crops in Farmville, I turned to him and declared, “we are addicted again!  This is ridiculous.”  So we both just shut off the Facebook games, simple as that.

Then the boredom set in.  I tried hard to concentrate on writing my one woman show, and I’ll admit, I did work on it from time to time, but I was not enjoying it after my mother died.  Plus we had a new puppy.  Our time was spent training, entertaining, exercising and loving him up.  The rest of the time, as we had taken away all joys of computer gaming, we were BORED.  The recession had hit us hard and left us truly penniless.  It was fine to go window shopping, but pretty depressing.  It was fine to learn the joys of The Dollar Store, but I had the place memorized in two trips.  It was ok to have friends over for dinner and conversation, but all we could provide was homemade soups.  We couldn’t travel to family for holidays.  We could not take vacations.  We just worked and earned 1/3 what we used to and tried to catch up on bills.  The time in between was not very stimulating.

Now we had eliminated all our vices.   We had chosen not to do drugs, cigarettes and rarely drink as a lifestyle.  We both hated exercise.  We hated wasting too much of our lives watching TV.  So here we were – giving up the most stimulating thing I had done in years – playing WOW.

I looked at my husband one night and said, “Ask Chris if he still wants to give us a holiday gift.”

My husband almost knocked himself out getting to his cellphone to ask Chris if his generosity still held.

Chris was thrilled to have us on WOW to show him the ropes.  After all, his character was only a Level 45 and we had Death Knights!!

It’s an interesting thing about WOW.  Even tho you have discontinued they know you’ll be back.  They never erase your characters!  Or your well-earned gold.  Or all your talent points.  So your hard work at leveling is not erased just because you left.  In our case, all our wonderful characters we spent over a year creating, still existed, with the simple flick of a credit card.

We had to reintroduce ourselves to our little “toons” as they are called.   I had created 6 very different characters the better to fit my mood and my many personas.

My hunter Ozmerelda had a big white Owl named “Cauliflower” to help her hunt.

SophiaVail is my curvy Priestess who cannot for the life of her fight, but can save everyone else, even if they are dead.

GingerVail is my beautiful busty Warlock with a choice of minions to help her fight, including a wicked Elvira looking succubus who fights with kisses!!

My little dwarf Mage has lots of spells to cast to fight with.

AmoriaVail is a Paladin and called a tank like a Warrior because they have so much armor on they aren’t easily hurt.  She happens to be a strawberry blonde beauty.

Fannylarue is an actual Warrior.   She can be in the thick of the quest and not be hurt.  She has vivid purple hair.

And then there is the infamous Death Knight – mine is named Morrighann after an ancient death goddess.  She is KILLER!!

So, you may ask me – did I have more fun creating the looks, names and talents of the Toons or actually playing.  You’d be right that I LOVE creating the characters alot.  It’s part of the game.

But there is something so fulfilling to achieve a quest that was most difficult to figure out.

The 3-D effects of the lands and virtual time is just mezmorizing.  The makers of WOW are truly genius.  This said from a little old lady of almost 55 who finds herself once again happily gaming.

But this time – I am LOVING IT and not going to deny myself.    Just in moderation this time.

After all, a girl has got to have some kind of vices in life.

Published in: on January 4, 2010 at 1:18 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://everreadywoman.wordpress.com/2010/01/04/hello-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. All I can say is, What a Wife!


Leave a Reply

