Serendipity


One of my heros in life – Julia Cameron who wrote “The Artist’s Way” – quoted an anonymous someone as saying “Leap and the net will appear.”  As most of you know, it quickly became my life motto.

But you may not know she also wrote an entire chapter about being aware of serendipitous happenings.  And ever since I read her book the first time (since then I’ve read it at least 10 more times) I have been accutely aware of things directing my life if I just allow it and pay attention.

Serendipity.  Are YOU paying attention?  We get so tied up in our daily “stuff” we completely ignore it most of the time.  But it can change your life if you learn to pay attention to it!

This week something unusual happened – something serendipitous – all in the course of a few hours which was truly cause to pause and pay attention.

First of all our friend Kevin called out of the blue.  He and Mark had seen Stephen’s gorgeous handmade necklace that Maria was wearing in my blog a week before, and wanted one for a friends birthday.  (picture to the right)

We seemed to have exactly what they wanted already made up in bright colorful yarns and feathers and beads.  Kevin and Mark came over later that day and decided it was perfect and took it with them to their friend paying us for our wares.

Serendipitiously, about an hour after hearing from Kevin, a former classmate wrote me on Facebook to say that she would like some jewelry made for her for some specific health issues.  I was thrilled, as I have been doing this kind of work with gemstones for two decades yet never tried to market it.   I began in earnest to research the perfect healing stones for her to make an extremely personal and incredibly powerful bracelet.  I was exhilirated with the creative process.

Stephen and I have been making jewelry as gifts for years and years always considering it a “hobby.”  Not until today did it seem like a viable way to have fun while earning some extra money for our talents.  Our eyes had been open for the serendipity of the moment.

I love reseraching and then finding the perfect gemstones with the necessary healing properties for someone’s issues.  And Stephen’s original necklaces (must give credit to bead artist Amy Loh-Kupser of Idaho for teaching us both the basic technique) would have taken off almost a year earlier when a shop manager in Sedona said they were interested in seeing more of  his work to possibly carry his line.  (Serendipity we were both just completely BLIND to!)

More Serendipity occured when Kevin and Mark had asked us for a business card to put in their gift box and of course we didn’t have one.  Well, this led us to discuss a business name and think about a website to sell our work.

At this point we had both finally seen the obvious serendipity of all these circumstances, and so, with great clarity, we began to toss around ideas for a business name.   But you know how life goes, we were busy with work and “stuff.”

That night, while walking from my computer to the kitchen for some Toll House refrigerated Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough,  (yum!)

I heard in my head, “Whimsical, Mystical Jewelry.”  It was so sing-songy I began saying it over and over in my mind without any thought to what I was doing.  It was just some words dancing around in my head.

Serendipty at work and there I was, NOT paying attention again!

Fortunately, like a brick slamming me awake, I finally heard the song as the very clear message it seemed to be and wrote it down.  “Whimsical, Mystical Jewelry.”  Well now.  That most definitely described our jewelry.  Stephen’s gorgeous feathery pieces most definitely made with whimsy and my pieces were made with healing stones and mysticism.  Hmmmm.  I kept tossing it around.  Finally I looked up the name on line.  It did not come up.  No one had this website  yet.  That was astonishing.

Was this it?  Just like that?  Without spending countless hours on the computer trying out name after name to market exactly what we do?

I called Stephen on his Tanker truck.

“What do you think of ‘Whimsical, Mystical Jewelry’?”  He had an instant response.  “I love it!” he proclaimed.

I sat back down at my computer, a paper plate of cookie dough at the ready to spur my creativity.  I turned on my graphics and played around with some unusual fonts I had downloaded for free recently.  (Serendipity, again?)   I finally decided on the “Bleeding Cowboy” font.   Then I opened up the art program and messed around until I liked the whimsy yet mysticalness of the two-colored logo.

And that is how, through huge spoonfuls of serendipity, another door opened for Stephen and I, with an extraordinary new set of possibilities for our life direction.  All because we PAID ATTENTION to the messages.

Are you paying attention to your daily

?

Our new business is brewing like a pot of coffee around the house these days.  So please share our news.  We’ll let you know when http://www.whimsicalmysticaljewelry.com is up and running!  (oh yes – we own that site now!)

Have a Serendipty filled day today!  (And please share in the comments below if something unique happened for you today!  It inspires all of us!)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://everreadywoman.wordpress.com/2010/04/13/serendipity/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

