It’s a Dogs Life Now


I just sat outside in the 90 degree weather, having a ball, watching my puppy play with another pug and gabbing it up with women I barely know.

This is my life 4 nights a week.  What the heck?

I used to party 4 nights a week.  I used to sit in a barber chair, tilted back until I was laying out horizontal and have Honey Wild Turkey poured down my throat.  Partly because it was a cheap drink ($1.00) and partly to display I could swallow.

I used to lie about my name.  Or even better, give out made up nicknames like Tiffany Titwell or Hoover or Eureka.  Or Creamy.  Or Bubbles.  Come on, you get it.  I know you do.  Uh huh.

I used to win Disco Dance Trophies.  (Yes I am that old!) The most I ever won was $20 bucks and a cheap trophy, but heh, I did it!

I used to be the life of the party.  Loud and crazy and willing to talk about sex at the drop of ….well….let’s say some underwear!

I used to think the omelets at Denny’s were really GOOD at 2 in the morning,

reading tarot cards

with some stranger and counting out my last pennies to pay for breakfast.

But, as I said, now I look forward to sitting outdoors in a dog park with virtual strangers, talking and gabbing and laughing about dog antics.

SO I HAVE TO ASK – WHO THE FUCK AM I NOW??

Ok, I know who I am, but seriously, did any of YOU see this coming?  I cannot say I ever did.  Not ever.

So they say a dog changes your life. I always thought this meant all that responsibility changed your life from happy-go-lucky to something with a leash on it.  I wanted nothing to do with a leash attached to my body.

And while I knew the statistics about dog owners being more healthy, I had no idea how much I’d suddenly be outside every day.

Just a little puppy.  Who has completely and totally enveloped me with love and laughter and the need to find other people who are like-minded.

The late afternoon starts with me waiting for that call from Ninja’s grandma Jackie saying they are off to the dog park and will Mushu coming out to play too?  (That’s Jackie to the right with Mushu.)

I throw on my dog park garb – because let’s face it, you must have something with that perfect sense of doggy friendly style, while being faddish and creative and comfortable.  I pat on some make-up because with all the cameras at the dog park, you never know whose Facebook you’ll end up on.

Then I begin the big tease with Mushu.  “Do you want to see Ninja?  Do you?  Huh?  Do you want to see Aunt Jackie?  You want to go to the Dog Park?” I lift my voice up several octaves at the end of each sentence, which causes Mushu to tilt his head back and forth like a furious windmill.  He seems to understand that my lilting voice means something VERY EXCITING is about to happen.

Once I grab his purple gladiator halter and leash off the key rack by the door, he knows.  He runs in circles crying like he’s about to have sex.  Finally he cools down enough to get his garb on and we drive the four blocks to the dog park.  (One day, when it’s not 90 or more degrees, we’ll walk it.  Just think of the exercise!)

The squealing at the park is not from Jackie and I.  It’s from Mushu and Ninja.  You’d think they were long-lost brothers.  And for the next two hours they race, sniff butts, chase, catch the girls and bark at the big dogs in the big dog park next door. Mostly they just do a lot of Pug Wrestling at our feet.  It’s quite the show.  They growl and squeal and nip and, well, it looks just like the world wrestling championship.  They get so involved in the wrestling, they fall off the bench, or run so hard at the bench they hit it “POW” and bounce off it. They are just happy campers and that makes us humans delirious.

There are a lot of regulars now that I know.  Almost everyone has rescued their dog and loves to tell their story over and over.  Sadly three dogs have been dumped at the park since Mushu and I began going.  Of course dog park dog owners will NEVER let a dog go the pound where they have so little chance of living.  Nope, they all gather together in a football huddle and decide who can do what and when.  Last night my friend Jackie decided the little puppy that was dumped was going to be her new dog.  And she took him home. That puppy has no idea the great life it’s about to live.  She named the Chihuahua-min/pin-dachshund mix “Diego.”  Ninja tends to mother him and Mushu wants to be sweet to him.  One big happy family.

Another friend, Kathy, has her dogs certified to visit rest homes.  I LOVE this idea and want to see about doing this with Mushu when he’s a bit older.  What a great way to utilize a good dog.  I know there was a cat that hung around my Mom in the last home she lived in.  What a nice comfort.  And Mushu has so much love to give.  Pugs are very lovey dovey and great lap dogs.

There are mostly dogs that are well socialized for Mushu to play with.

Curry, from the pound, is part pit bull and part dachshund.  I mean LOOK at that face.  How could anyone have given him away?

Then there is BIG PUG George and his owner Ashley.  So cute and adorable.

There are lots of Boston Terriers who chase the Frisbees like they are in training for dog Olympics.

There is always a gaggle of white terriers.  One looks just like the dog on the “Caesar” dog food ad, so we all call him Caesar.

There is a HUGE assortment of Chihuahuas.

There are the old dogs who nap.  And those like Jake who like to push the tiny dogs to the edge and make them frightened.  Mushu learned how to cope with Jake and he is not his nemesis anymore, I am proud to announce.  Ah our little baby is growing.

Now, you may think this is all silly and just a story about a few hours of my life at a Dog Park.  But you would be wrong.  I actually CAN’T WAIT to get to the dog park every day.  I look forward to it.  I imagine it’s like my Dad unwinding with his Bourbon and 7 every night.  Cause that’s how I feel.  Unwinding.

Meanwhile, Mushu gets exhausted and sleeps for the next 18 hours.

Yes, my life is very different these days.  And while I could never have imagined it, I am exhilarated by it and I’ve become unrecognizable as the annoying woman who tells stories about her damn DOG all day.  Uh huh,  that’s me.

But I will secretly tell you, some of the ladies and I get in a little sex talk each night.  I guess some things will never change!

Published in: on April 18, 2010 at 6:54 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://everreadywoman.wordpress.com/2010/04/18/its-a-dogs-life-now/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a wonderful story about the impact of pets in our lives. Thanks for this one!

  2. Denise, What a beautiful and heart-warming blog. You have a kind heart that I am proud to know. This blog almost made me want to run right out and get a dog!!!

    • So, ok, what is stopping you? So many dogs need a home. Go get one! Or two. Thanks for your nice thoughts.


Leave a Reply

